30/07/2026
SCAM ALERT!
Please be aware that we have had multiple requests to check PCs for scams of late. This particular one comes via email addressed from someone in your address book.
The email invites you to a shared folder similar to when sharing a onedrive or share point folder and because the sender is someone you know, you think nothing of it.
Once the link is clicked, it immediately downloads a remote access client and then shows a black screen that makes one believe an update is in progress even though you can witness the mouse moving.
At this point, your PC MUST get shut down and lose its connection to the internet.
The software allows someone else to gain full control and you can't see it. At this point, your PC must have a full clean to remove any possibility of someone else having access to everything.
Stay safe, stay vigilant!
If the email has a folder link, its best to call the sender to confirm it was them whom sent it.